Scout Assessment is designed to determine class composition and placement within a cohort for middle year students

Scout Assessment is divided into three parts:

  • Mathematics

Assesses mathematical skills in a range of contexts across number and arithmetic, algebra and patterns, measurement, space and geometry, and chance and data.

  • Reading and Language

Assesses reading and language skills in a wide range of literary and factual texts. Students are assessed on:
  1. Their ability to read for meaning in literary and factual text
  2. Recognition of textual devices in these texts and to interpret the meaning of words and phrases
  3. Identify the correct use of grammar.

  • Writing

Students will be asked to write an aspect or stage of a narrative. The task is scored using six criteria which assess students’ ability to:
  1. Fulfil the requirements of the genre
  2. Use effective vocabulary
  3. Use sentence structure, including complex types, correctly
  4. Punctuate and spell correctly

Assessment structure

The Scout Assessment can be completed as a single two-hour assessment or as a three-part assessment sat separately over one or more days. When sitting the Scout Assessment as a single two-hour assessment, it is advised two breaks of five minutes each are scheduled between the three sections.
Parts Number of questions/tasks Test duration Total marks
Part 1. Mathematics 40 40 40
Part 2. Reading and Language 40 40 40
Part 3. Writing* 1 30 20
*The writing task is a criterion-referenced assessment that is hand-marked by experienced teachers.
Country Year Level Equivalent
Australia Year 5 to Year 8
New Zealand Year 6 to Year 9
Pacific region Year 6 to Year 9
Hong Kong Primary 5 to Form 2
Malaysia Standard 5 to Form 2
Singapore Primary 4 to Secondary 1
International schools Year 5 to year 8
Get started with Scout.
Head over to our shop or contact us if you have any questions.